April 25, 2020

How to spot the 4 different types of chocolate.

How to spot the 4 different types of chocolate.

How to spot the 4 different types of chocolate.

Have you ever wondered how many different types of chocolate are available to buy? If you've ever gone to a legitimate chocolate shop, you might be overwhelmed by all of the different varieties. Most chocolate shops have hundreds of items that contain the word chocolate in their description. You might be surprised to know there are only four types of chocolate. Do you think you could spot them all?

The most popular chocolate is milk chocolate. Milk chocolate is sweet and creamy and has a dreamy mouthfeel and after taste. Milk chocolate is created by adding milk to dark chocolate in the form of a powder or crumb. The percentage of cocoa required varies by region, with the US requiring a concentration of only 10% cocoa, while the EU requires 25%. Milk chocolate is light brown. 

Types of chocolate: milk chocolate

Second, is dark chocolate. Dark chocolate is the closest type of chocolate to pure cocoa. Dark chocolate is manufactured with the least amount of additives and ingredients. Dark chocolate is often called plain chocolate by purists. The fat content is not from powdered milk like milk chocolate, but rather is from cocoa butter. Dark chocolate comes in two forms, Semisweet and bittersweet. Bittersweet is often used for baking while semisweet dark chocolate is used as couverture chocolate for dipping. Dark chocolate is very dark brown or black.

Types of chocolate : Dark Chocolate

Third is white chocolate. White chocolate has the most ingredients and additives used in its creation. There are no cocoa solids in white chocolate, only cocoa butter. White chocolate must contain 20% cocoa butter to be considered chocolate. Otherwise, it is a confectionerycoating. White chocolate is white in appearance.

Types of chocolate: White Chocolate
Last but not least is Ruby Chocolate. Ruby chocolate was released in 2017 by Barry Callebaut. It is made from a particular bean known as the ruby cocoa bean, which is a rare variety of the standard cocoa bean. The manufacturing process gives the chocolate a pink hue, and the flavor is a combination of sweet and sour. Some people find that there is a hint of raspberry flavor, but raspberries are not required in the production. Ruby chocolate is pink in appearance.

Types of chocolate: Ruby Chocolate

Now that you know the four types of chocolate, do you think you will spot them at your local chocolate shop?

Leave a comment